

2018 IBWA / Kristin Safran Directors' Award Nomination Guidelines

Deadline: Nominations Accepted Until June 22, 2018

The International Bottled Water Association (IBWA) is now accepting nominations for the 2018 IBWA / Kristin Safran Directors' Award. This award recognizes IBWA members whose advocacy, commitment, or actions on behalf of IBWA and the bottled water industry have achieved clear and measurable results for IBWA and the bottled water industry as a whole.

During the General Session of the **2018 IBWA Annual Business Conference and Trade Show at the Hyatt Regency in New Orleans, November 12-15, 2018**, IBWA will announce the winner(s) of the Kristin Safran Director's Award during IBWA's General Session.

General Rules

- Candidate nominations are provided by the IBWA Board of Directors, Executive Committee members, and Committee Chairs.
- All candidate nominations shall be submitted to the IBWA Supplier and Convention Committee, which will screen candidates based on the award criteria.
- The IBWA Board of Directors will review all nominations that meet award criteria, as determined by the Supplier and Convention Committee.
- The IBWA Board of Directors will select the award recipient(s).
- If a Board member has been nominated for this award, he or she will not participate in the voting process.

Nomination Process

The document(s) submitted by the nominator to confirm the nominee's success in increasing understanding and awareness of the bottled water issues are truthful, valid, and persuasive. Those documents should include the following:

- A one-page (approximately 500 words) written summary describing the achievements of the nominee, how the nominee's influence moved his/her committee and/or IBWA to take action on critical industry issues, and examples of the nominee's leadership on issues or programs that had substantial impact on the bottled water industry.
- Option: In place of the one-page written summary, nominators may provide a 3-minute (or less) video describing the achievements, industry influence, and IBWA actions of the nominee and why that nominee is deserving of the Kristin Safran Director's Award.
- Media coverage or other documentation of the candidate's accomplishments (e.g., newspaper, magazine, television, CD, video), if available.

Criteria

Candidates will be evaluated on the scope and depth of documented advocacy, commitment, or actions that have promoted tangible benefits to the bottled water industry. The IBWA Board of Directors Award Subcommittee will use the following criteria to make its selection.

- A nominee's measurable achievement and/or contribution to the industry must have occurred within the most recent five (5) year period. Following are some areas in which that achievement/contribution could occur:
 - Call to action during emergency situations, natural disasters, or catastrophic events
 - Emerging technologies
 - Industry advocacy
 - Legislative/Regulatory
 - New developments
 - Service provider
- The nominee is actively involved in IBWA activities, participating in one or more of the following groups:
 - IBWA committees
 - Chairing or co-chairing an IBWA committee
 - Special projects and initiatives
 - Task forces and working groups
- The nominee's performance affirms that he or she is a value-added contributor to IBWA and the bottled water industry.

Video Option

In place of the brief written narrative describing the achievements of the nominee, nominators may provide a 3-minute (or less) video describing why the nominee is deserving of the IBWA/Kristin Safran Directors' Award. Provide the video to IBWA in either .mov or .mp4 formats. Videos can be emailed to shicks@bottledwater.org. (Note: Email attachments larger than 10 MB are not accepted by IBWA's office Outlook email system. You may have to use a service such as Hightail.com to email the file.)

Questions

If you have questions, contact IBWA Director of Communications Sabrina Hicks at 703.647.4601 or shicks@bottledwater.org. Mail or email your nomination documents to IBWA headquarters:

2018 IBWA/Kristin Safran Directors' Award 1700 Diagonal Road, Suite 650 Alexandria, VA 22314 Email: shicks@bottledwater.org



The IBWA / Kristin Safran Directors' Award

Created in 2006, the IBWA Directors' Award recognizes members whose advocacy, commitment, and actions on behalf of IBWA—and the bottled water industry—have achieved clear and measurable results for both IBWA and the bottled water industry as a whole. In 2009, the award was renamed the IBWA/Kristin Safran Directors' Award in honor of former IBWA Board of

Directors member Kristin Safran, a valued and loved member of the IBWA family who was a passenger on the Continental Airlines commuter flight that crashed in Buffalo, New York, February 2009, killing everyone on board.